Chris Webb's BI Blog

Analysis Services, MDX, PowerPivot, DAX and anything BI-related

Creating Surveys using Excel 2013 Forms

with 15 comments

Jamie Thomson and I share a number of… obscure enthusiasms. For instance, last week when he spotted the new forms/surveys feature in the Excel 2013 Web App (see here for a mention) he knew I’d be excited. And I was. Excited enough to devote a whole blog post to them.

What is this feature? Basically a rip-off of homage to the Google docs functionality I mentioned here that allows you to create simple questionnaires and save the data back to a spreadsheet. To use it you need to create a new Excel spreadsheet in the Excel Web App (I can’t seem to find it in desktop Excel and it may not even exist there), then click on Form/New Form in the ribbon:

image

This opens a new dialog where you can create your form/survey:

image

It’s all pretty self-explanatory from there, you just enter a title and description and then some questions, which can be various types (returning text, numbers, multiple choices etc):

image

You can then answer the questions yourself or send a link out to other people so they can too:

image

If you’d like to take the survey you can do so here btw.

The data then lands in a table in the original Excel spreadsheet, ready for you to do something useful with it:

image

For my next trick, and to go back to another issue that Jamie and I have been moaning about for years, I would have liked to consume the data in this table via an OData feed as detailed here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/sharepoint/jj163874(v=office.15)

Unfortunately I couldn’t get it to work. Whether this is a temporary problem or a limitation with Office 365 (as opposed to on-prem Sharepoint) I don’t know… if someone knows how to make it work, though, I’d be much obliged if you could leave a comment.

UPDATE: First of all, if you can’t see the survey don’t worry – the service seems to be very unreliable. Secondly I’ve got the OData feed working now and will blog about it later.

Written by Chris Webb

July 23, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Posted in BI, Cloud, Excel, OData, PowerPivot

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also don’t see the button in the web version….
    What am I doing wrong…?

    Jelle-Jeroen Lamkamp

    July 24, 2012 at 11:12 am

  2. the Form/New Form in the ribbon

    Jelle-Jeroen Lamkamp

    July 24, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    • It’s only there in the Excel 2013 Excel Web App Preview and not in earlier versions and not in desktop Excel. Are you using the 2013 Excel Web App? If so, which version (Home or Professional Plus)?

      Chris Webb

      July 24, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      • I’am using the 2013 Excel Web App but was not aware of the two versions
        Where can I choose between the two ….?

        Jelle-Jeroen Lamkamp

        July 24, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      • Hmm, well I don’t know for sure whether this is related to different editions of Office 365, but I’m using Professional Plus and it’s the only thing I can think of. There was an option to use Home or Professional Plus when I signed up, and I chose the latter: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/evalcenter/hh973391.aspx

        Chris Webb

        July 24, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  3. [...] yesterday’s post I showed how you could create surveys in the Excel 2013 Web App, and mentioned that I would have [...]

  4. [...] you follow Chris Webb’s blog (and if you’re a BI practitioner in the Microsoft space – why aren’t you following his blog?) [...]

  5. Great post! Thank you! Did you ever ran into a problem, when you tried to get a link for your form? I can create a form in SharePoint, but when I try to create a link to the form I only get

    “We don’t know what happened, but something went wrong. Could you please try that again?”

    josefm

    August 9, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    • I don’t remember having that error, but to be honest I’ve seen so many errors in Office 365 that it doesn’t surprise me. The Preview seems to be a little bit unstable.

      Chris Webb

      August 9, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  6. Hi Chris I am trying to upload an excel interactive form to my website. I’ve tried embedding the file but it only embeds a link any tips would be very much appreciated!!!

    justinwendell

    June 25, 2013 at 6:08 am

    • Hi Justin,

      Are you uploading the file to Sharepoint? Excel forms aren’t supported in Excel Services, unfortunately.

      Chris

      Chris Webb

      June 25, 2013 at 6:25 am

      • I’m not sure what sharepoint is, I upload it to skydrive, I’m trying to convert my interactive excel form into html. I have seen a few forums that say it can be done but I am unable to do so

        justinwendell

        June 25, 2013 at 6:28 am

      • Ah, ok. No, Skydrive isn’t Sharepoint, although it’s still the case that some things that work in Excel on the desktop (such as VBA) won’t work after uploading. Are you uploading via Skydrive.com?

        Chris Webb

        June 25, 2013 at 6:42 am

  7. Yes I am using skydrive.live.com. The link below shows how to do this but its a little older version. I’ve seen a few other tutorials do it as well. Im just asking everyone everywhere until I get a solution

    justinwendell

    June 25, 2013 at 6:56 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,220 other followers

