Chris Webb's BI Blog

Analysis Services, MDX, PowerPivot, DAX and anything BI-related

Installing SSAS 2008R2 SP1 breaks PowerPivot

with 8 comments

Here’s something I found out a few weeks ago, just before I went on holiday: installing SP1 for SSAS 2008R2 breaks a PowerPivot installation on the same machine. After I’d installed SP1 on my laptop I found I got an “Unable to open file” error message in PowerPivot whenever I tried to import data, at which point PowerPivot crashed. For me the fix was easy – reinstall PowerPivot and it worked again – but I’m glad I found this out before I needed to use PowerPivot in front of a customer.

Written by Chris Webb

August 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

Posted in PowerPivot

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve just found out that reinstall the old version of PowerPivot doesn’t solve the problem. I have to download the latest version of PowerPivot (version 10.50.2500.0, matched to SP1 build number) and reinstall with it.

    George Qiao

    August 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    • Same here for me. Went to the latest version to get working again.

      Kirk

      August 30, 2011 at 11:56 pm

  2. I ran into the exact same thing – reinstalling the newest version of PowerPivot (as George pointed out in the previous comment) solved it for me as well.

    Melissa Coates

    August 30, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  3. I’m certainly glad I read this – I was about to do the exact same thing. Is this documented in MSDN or TechNet anywhere?

    Aashish Koirala

    August 30, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  4. Your are lucky Chris!

    Ayyappan Thangaraj

    August 31, 2011 at 1:46 am

  5. Thanks for the “heads up”, Chris!

    Luke Pargiter

    August 31, 2011 at 10:52 pm

  6. I had to re-download and install too. I presume this is some issue with a change in the MSOLAP OLEDB provider in the SP.

    Darren Gosbell

    September 5, 2011 at 4:48 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,072 other followers

