Chris Webb's BI Blog

Analysis Services, MDX, PowerPivot, DAX and anything BI-related

SQLSentry Performance Advisor for Analysis Services

with one comment

I’m currently in Germany at the PASS European Conference. I ran a pre-conf with Allan Mitchell two days ago on monitoring SSAS, SSRS and SSIS, an expanded version of the material I used at the PASS Summit last year; we talked about how you could build a monitoring solution for the MS BI stack yourself, but for the last few months I’ve also been talking to the guys at SQL Sentry – who are also here exhibiting – about their new product called Performance Advisor for Analysis Services which has just been made public. I’ve had an in-depth demo and my first impression is that this is the first Analysis Services monitoring solution that I would actually want to use; it looks really, really good. Here’s a screenshot:

I believe SQL Sentry have the first solution that will monitor the SQL Server relational engine, Analysis Services, and SSIS and SSRS as well. As I’ve said before, I can’t believe it’s taken this long for a big third party vendor to notice the MS BI monitoring market! You can find out more and sign up for the beta here:
http://www.sqlsentry.net/performance-advisor/sql-server-analysis-services.asp
I’ll be getting hold of a beta version myself soon, and I’ll blog in more detail then.

Of course, collecting this information is one thing – actually understanding what it tells us, and using that information effectively, is something else completely. To be honest, it’s only after the prep work I did for my precon that I’ve started to think about this problem properly. Indeed, it’s only really when this kind of monitoring data is easily accessible that best practices for what to monitor can emerge; perhaps the SQLCat team need to write a white paper on this subject? In our preconf Allan also did a few cool demos using data mining on perfmon data to predict when a server is going to ‘go pop’ (in his words), and I think there are a lot of interesting possibilities here too.

Written by Chris Webb

April 24, 2009 at 10:25 am

Posted in Analysis Services

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree. By exhibiting near them, I had an opportunity to see it being presented to me for a short time and from what I saw – it looks fantastic!

    Tomislav

    April 24, 2009 at 10:44 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,081 other followers

