Chris Webb's BI Blog

Analysis Services, MDX, PowerPivot, DAX and anything BI-related

Debunking the Beer and Diapers Story

with one comment

Mark Whitehorn (of ‘Fast Track to MDX’ fame) debunks that old ‘beer and diapers’ story that I’ve used plenty of times in data mining presentations in the Register today:
Not that I’m going to let the small matter of the truth get in the way of a good story in future presentations!
 
Thinking about it, though, the fact that I’ve never seen beer and nappies together in the supermarket (or for that matter other equally incongruous combinations) should have given the game away. I’m a young father – daugher #2 was born three weeks ago – and I’ve spent more Friday nights down at Tesco buying nappies than I’d like to admit; I always find the beer in the beer aisle and the nappies in the nappy aisle at opposite ends of the store.
 
 

Written by Chris Webb

August 15, 2006 at 3:04 pm

Posted in Data Mining

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris,
     
    We\’ve never met but I look at your blog often… it is best in class.
     
    But I\’m writing this because I wanted to say congrats on the baby!
     
    Duncan

    Unknown

    August 16, 2006 at 5:35 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,072 other followers

